An online portal of compilations on jurisprudence, law notes, case digests, case doctrines, and Philippine law updates.
Revised Rules of Procedure For Small Claims Cases
case digest, Philippine law, jurisprudence, SCRA
jurisdictional amount,
small claims,
small claims court
Shipmanagement Inc., et al. v Alexander Moradas GR NO. 178564, January 15, 2014
Injuries due to the willful act of the employee is not compensable
FACTS:
FACTS:
The respondent was employed as a wiper for the vessel M/V Commander of the Shipmanagement Inc. The respondent claims that chemicals were splashed all over his body during garbage disposal in the vessel's incinerator room due to an explosion. He was repatriated and admitted to St. Luke's Medical Center. He was diagnosed with thermal burns. He now claims for the payment of his full disability benefit under Section 20 (B) in relation to Section 30 and 30-A of the POEA-SEC contending that his burns render him permanently disabled to work as a seaman. On the other hand, the petitioner disputed the claim of the respondent that he is entitled to the disability benefit. It contends that the burns and injury of the respondent are self inflicted by pouring himself with a paint thinner and set himself on fire. This was after he was dismissed after being caught stealing the supplies from the vessel. Report of the ship captain as well as affidavits of the crew members were submitted.
The Labor Arbiter and NLRC ruled in favor of the respondent, but the CA reversed the judgment, hence this petition for review on certiorari to the Supreme Court.
ISSUE:
Whether or not the respondent is entitled to the disability benefit.
RULING:
No. He is not entitled.
The court held to be entitled for the disability benefit it is not necessary to show that the injury was work-related. It must only be proven to have been contracted during the term of the contract. This rule is not absolute, however, and among the grounds for the exemption from liability by the employer is when the injury or cause of the disability is due to the willful and deliberate act of the seaman. The court found some grounds to conclude that the respondent's injury is indeed deliberate and self inflicted because there is no showing of evidence on record that the burning was due to an accident and that the petitioner's theory that the respondent's burn were self inflicted is correct as supported by evidence that shows the respondent's motive.
case digest, Philippine law, jurisprudence, SCRA
2014,
disability benefit,
et al. v Alexander Moradas,
GR NO. 178564,
January 15,
Labor,
seaman,
Shipmanagement Inc.
Alpha Ship Management Corporation, et al. v Eleosis Calo GR No. 192034, January 13, 2014
Failure to act by the company physician within 120-240
days under the Amended Rules on Employees Compensation there is a conclusive
presumption that the seafarer's disability is permanent and total, thereby
entitling him for disability benefit
Facts
Respondent Calo works with the
petitioner under 7 employment contracts. He suffered from back pain and
urinated solid particles while working on board as chief cook of Chuo-Kaiun
Company Ltd. He was diagnosed with UTI and renal colic. When his condition did
not improve, he went to another doctor who diagnosed him with kidney problems
and UTI but was cleared for work although only for light duties. On Sept. 19,
2004 he was declared unfit to work and was ordered to return to the Phils. He
was repatriated on October 12, 2004 and visited the company physician Dr.
Nicomedes Cruz upon arrival who recommended he is fit to work. When he filed
for disability benefits the claim was denied. The Labor Arbiter ruled in favor
of the respondent but this was reversed by the NLRC. On appeal, the CA
reinstated the Labor Arbiter's ruling hence this petition for review on
certiorari.
Issue
Whether or not the respondent is entitled to disability
benefits despite being declared as fit to work.
Held
He is entitled to disability benefit.
Article 192 (c)(1) provides
that disabilities shall be deemed total and permanent xxx c) temporary total
disability lasting continuously for more than 120 days. Xxx The 120-day period
may be extended up to 240 days under Rule X, section 2 of the Amended Rules onEmployees Compensation and pursuant to the pronouncement that a temporary total
disability becomes permanent when so declared by the company-designated
physician within the period allowed, or upon the expiration of the 240 days
medical treatment period in case of absence of such declaration of fitness or
permanent disability. If after the lapse of these periods, a seafarer remains
incapacitated in performing his duties and the company-designated physician has
not yet declared him to be fit to work or permanently disabled, there is a
conclusive presumption that he is totally and permanently disabled.
It appears that the respondent was repatriated on October
12, 2004 and his treatment continuous until October 14, 2005, a period of more
than a year and the company-designated physician failed to make an assessment
on the respondent's medical condition. The period of 120-240 having lapsed, the
presumption that the respondent's condition was permanent and total already
attaches. He is therefore entitled to claim for disability benefit.
case digest, Philippine law, jurisprudence, SCRA
2014,
Alpha Ship Management Corporation,
Amended Rules onEmployees Compensation,
disability benefit,
et al. v Eleosis Calo,
GR No. 192034,
January 13,
Labor,
seafarer
Benigno Vigilla, et al. v Philippine College of Criminology, Inc. GR No. 200094, June 10, 2013
Law Principle:
Anything favorable to the labor-only contractor redounds to
the benefit of the employer under the principle of solidary liability
Facts:
The petitioners work for the
Philippine College of Criminology Inc. (PCCr) as janitors, janitress and
supervisor in its maintenance department. The petitioners were made to
understand by the respondent PCCr that they are under the Metropolitan Building
Services, Inc. (MBMSI) which is a corporation engaged in providing janitorial
services. PCCr terminated the services of MBMSI on 2009 which resulted in the
dismissal of the petitioners. An illegal dismissal complaint was then filed
against PCCr by the petitioners contending that it is their real employer and
not MBMSI. Subsequently, the PCCr submitted to the Labor Arbiter waivers,
releases and quitclaims that were executed by the petitioners in favor to
MBMSI.
The Labor Arbiter and NLRC ruled
in favor of the petitioner, however upon filing the petition for review on
certiorari before the Court of Appeals, the CA ruled that the quitclaims, releases
and waivers executed by the petitioners in favor to MBMSI redounds to the
benefit of PCCr by virtue of solidary liability under Article 1217 of the NewCivil Code. The petitioners contend that under Article 106 of the Labor Code a
labor-only contractor's liability is not solidary as it is the employer who
should be directly responsible to the supplied worker.
Issue
Whether or not the quitclaims, releases
and waivers executed by the petitioners in favor to MBMSI redounds to the
benefit of PCCr?
Held
Yes.
The Supreme Court held that the
basis of the solidary liability of the principal with those engaged in
labor-only contracting is the last paragraph of Article 106 of the Labor Code
that provides, "In such cases of labor-only contracting, the person or
intermediary shall be considered merely as an agent of the employer who shall
be responsible to the workers in the same manner and extent as if the latter
were directly employed by him."
It also pointed out D.O. No.
18-A, s. 2011 section 27 providing for the effects of labor-only contracting
"where upon the finding by competent authority of labor-only contracting
shall render the principal jointly and severally liable with the contractor to
the latter's employees, in the same manner and extent that the principal is
liable to employees directly hired by him/her, as provided in Article 106 of
the Labor Code."
Hence, the PCCr's solidary
liability was already expunged by virtue of the releases, waivers and
quitclaims executed by the petitioners in favor of MBMSI by virtue of Article
1217 of the Civil Code providing that "payment
made by one of the solidary debtors extinguishes the obligation."
case digest, Philippine law, jurisprudence, SCRA
2013,
Benigno Vigilla,
et al. v Philippine College of Criminology,
GR No. 200094,
Inc.,
June 10,
labor code,
labor law,
solidary liability
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)
Popular Posts
-
IMMOVABLE PROPERTY • Lex situs (where the property is situated) – character of immovable property as an isolated ob...
-
Industrial peace within the private security sector. This is the main objective of the Philippine Association of Detective and Protective A...
-
Article IX (B), Section 7. No elective official shall be eligible for appointment or designation in any capacity to any public office or p...
-
“Borrowing Statute” – Ex: Sec. 48, Rule on Civil Procedure – “ if by the laws of the State or country where the cause of action arose ...
-
Facts: A complaint was filed before the fiscal’s office constituting an offense in violation of a city ordinance. The fiscal did not file t...
-
Facts Prior to the incorporation of the City of Manila under the Republic Act No. 183, petitioner Vilas is the creditor of the City. A...
-
CONFLICT OF LAWS NOTES By: Evelyn De Matias PRINCIPLES AND DOCTRINES Extraterritoriality - General rule: Philippin...
-
FACTS: Amos Bellis, a US citizen, died a resident of Texas . He left two wills -- one devising a certain amount of money to his first...
-
Facts Prior to the incorporation as a chartered city, the Municipality of Zamboanga was the provincial capital of Zamboanga Province. ...
-
Facts: Edward Christensen is a citizen of the State of California and domiciled in the Philippines . He executed in his...